MAXINE WATTAM'S ATELIER

 

The atelier pieces are handmade by the designer in her own workshop in France. After the research and sketching process, every piece is shaped on a couture mannequin for utmost precision. The patterns are adapted upon demand to the client's measures. This process ensures the best possible fit for each and every body type.

We select all our fabrics with great care. Our lace comes from french House Sophie Hallette, offering the finest Calais lace, which is manufactured on traditional weaving looms. For this season's designs we have chosen to work with elastic Leavers and also dug out a beautiful silk embroidered lace from the House's archives. We selected the micro-tulle used in these pieces for its soft and strong qualities from a Belgian supplier specialized in technical and innovative fabrics. Last but certainly not least, all our natural lambskins are upcycled straight from famous french fashion houses deadstocks.

Such fine materials call for high-quality finishes and attention to detail: french seams, sheath assemblies and hand stitched freshwater pearls are specific features of the Maxine Wattam atelier pieces. The bra cups are lined with a precious hand woven macrame finish: this distinctive component envelops the wiring and releases satin elastics that draw graphic lines on the skin. Woven binds cross on the back and neck, link to brass clasps and intertwine around gold or silver plated rings. Present on each piece, macrame touches are trademark details.

ATELIER

 

Dans son propre atelier, la créatrice réalise ses pièces sur mesure à la main. Passée l'étape du croquis, la mise au point des modèles est d'abord effectuée par moulage sur un mannequin couture pour plus de précision. Les patrons sont ensuite adaptés à la demande aux mesures de chaque cliente. Ainsi, chaque composant d'un modèle est adapté au plus près afin d'épouser parfaitement votre morphologie.

Les matières qui composent ces pièces ont été sélectionnées avec soin. Nos dentelles proviennent de la maison Sophie Hallette et sont fabriquées à Calais sur des métiers à tisser traditionnels. Cette saison, nous travaillons des dentelles Leavers élastiques d'une finesse exceptionnelle ainsi qu'une dentelle issue des archives de la maison, rebrodée de laine de soie. Notre micro-tulle a été choisi pour sa finesse et sa solidité chez un fournisseur belge, spécialisé dans les matières techniques innovantes. Enfin, nos cuirs d'agneau plongé — matière de prédilection pour l'ensemble de notre collection — sont issus des stocks dormants des grandes maisons françaises.

Des matières d'une telle finesse exigent des finitions soignées, pensées dans le détail : coutures anglaises, montages en fourreau et perles d'eau douce cousues main sont caractéristiques des pièces atelier Maxine Wattam. Les bonnets des soutiens-gorges sont bordés d'une précieuse finition macramé réalisée main ; nœud après nœud, cet assemblage recouvre l'armature et libère des élastiques de satin qui dessinent des lignes graphiques sur la peau. Les liens ainsi tissés se croisent au détour de fermoirs bijou dans la nuque et le dos et convergent vers des anneaux de laiton plaqués dans différents métaux précieux : or rose, or jaune et vieil argent. Ces détails macramé sont une signature présente sur chaque modèle.